British Theatre Guide logo






Amateur Theatre


Other Resources



Search the Site



Dateline: 22nd May, 2006

'Tis Pity She's a Whore production photo
Mariah Gale (seen here with Charlie Cox) in "'Tis Pity She's a Whore"

2006 Ian Charleson Awards Winners

The 2006 Ian Charleson Award winners for outstanding performances by actors under the age of thiry in classical roles (i.e. in plays written prior to 1904) have been announced.

The winner of the first prize, woth £5,000, was Mariah Gale for her performances as Viola in Twelfth Night at Regents’ Park, Annabella in 'Tis Pity She’s a Whore at Southwark Playhouse and The Last Waltz at the Arcola.

Second was Sinéad Matthews for her performances as Hedvig in The Wild Duck (Donmar Warehouse) and Polly in You Never Can Tell (Garrick). She wins £1,500.

Benedict Cumberpatch won the third prize of £500 for his role as Tesmen in Hedda Gabler (Almeida and the Duke of York's).

Commendations went to Peter Bramhill, Michelle Dockery, Edward Hogg, Rory Kinnear, James Loyce, Lyndsey Marshal, Caitlin Mottram and Nicholas Shaw.


News Archive A-L
News Archive M-Z
Production News Archive

Please note that all three Archive indices are very long and will therefore take some time to download.



©Peter Lathan 2006