Ticketmaster Summer in Stages


Author(s): Richard Strauss
Company: Grange Park Opera
Running time: 0h 32min approx

This elegy for 23 solo string players (10 violins, 5 violas, 5 celli, 3 double basses) was composed during the closing months of WW2. Strauss took up his pen the day after the Vienna opera was destroyed and his music mourns the loss of culture.

Martyn Brabbins, Music Director of ENO, collaborated with LSO’s David Alberman to assemble a group of fellow musicians from all the London orchestras who, too, are mourning such a loss.


Online / no venue From