BBC Cymru Wales and National Theatre of Wales offer £10,000 writing award

Published: 17 March 2012
Reporter: David Chadderton

BBC Cymru Wales TV Drama and National Theatre of Wales have teamed up with BBC Writersroom to offer a £10,000 award to Wales-based drama writers.

Launched to coincide with the opening of the BBC Roath Lock Drama studios, the award is open to both new and established writers living in Wales and offers a £10,000 first prize and two runners-up prizes of £1,000 plus the opportunity for all three to develop their scripts with either BBC Cymru Wales TV Drama or National Theatre Wales.

Writers should submit a full-length script—minimum length 30 minutes—for any medium to BBC Writersroon by 16 July. There will be a series of open events during March and April for writers to find out more about the award in Cardiff, Aberystwyth, Bangor, Wrexham and Swansea.

The six shortlisted entrants will be invited in September to discuss their script and an idea they wish to develop with the judges, Who are BBC creative director of new writing Kate Rowland, BBC Cymru Wales head of drama Faith Penhale, National Theatre Wales artistic director John McGrath and writers Russell T Davies and Abi Morgan.

For more information and to download an application form, see the BBC Writersroom web site.