Callow’s Christmas Carol heads to Coventry

Published: 2 June 2021
Reporter: Steve Orme

Festive cheer: A Christmas Carol
The Russian State Ballet will return with Swan Lake

A Christmas Carol adapted by Simon Callow which features David Bradley and a co-production with Cardboard Citizens to mark Coventry’s year as UK City of Culture are highlights of the new season at Coventry’s Belgrade Theatre.

Oddsocks showcases its usual brand of chaotic comedy in Shakespeare’s The Comedy of Errors from Monday 14 until Thursday 17 June before the Belgrade stages the first non-socially distanced performance of the year, Alan Ayckbourn’s comedy Absurd Person Singular, from Wednesday 23 until Saturday 26 June.

British-Hong Kong playwright Amy Ng has adapted August Strindberg’s psychological classic Miss Julie into a new, politically charged production which will be presented by New Earth Theatre and Storyhouse from Thursday 8 until Saturday 10 July.

Mischief Theatre returns with The Play That Goes Wrong from Monday 13 until Saturday 18 September before Original Theatre Company stages Being Mr Wickham by Adrian Lukis and Catherine Curzon from Thursday 30 September until Saturday 2 October.

As part of its Coventry UK City of Culture programme, the Belgrade has teamed up with Cardboard Citizens to co-produce a new musical, The Ruff Tuff Cream Puff Estate Agency, from Saturday 9 until Saturday 16 October. The show includes a chorus of Coventry citizens who have experienced homelessness.

Dirty Dancing is back at the Belgrade from Tuesday 2 until Saturday 6 November and the following week the Russian State Ballet will be accompanied by a 30-piece orchestra for Swan Lake on Thursday 11 November, Sleeping Beauty on Friday 12 November and The Nutcracker on Saturday 13 November.

The Belgrade’s annual Christmas treat for children aged from two to six is Imagine Theatre’s Santa’s Magical Mystery Guest which runs from Thursday 9 until Friday 24 December, while the Belgrade and Chipping Norton Theatre will present A Christmas Carol from Monday 13 until Thursday 23 December.