Cast revealed for Leicestershire’s open-air Hairspray

Published: 5 May 2023
Reporter: Steve Orme

Hairspray principles
Hairspray ensemble

Leicestershire’s Kilworth House Theatre has revealed the cast for its “unique” production of Hairspray—the first outdoor presentation of the musical in the UK.

Charlotte-Hannah Jones will play Tracy Turnblad while Michael J Batchelor will take the role of Edna Turnblad. The remaining principles are Steven Serlin (Wilbur Turnblad), Jenny Gayner (Velma Von Tussle), Holly Willock (Amber Von Tussle), Alex Lodge (Link Larkin), Nay-Nay (Seaweed J Stubbs), Ayesha Maynard (Motormouth Maybelle), Liam Doyle (Corny Collins) and Biancha Szynal (Penny Pingleton).

Supporting roles will be taken by Jessica Niles (Dynamite 1), M-Jae Cleopatra Isaac (Dynamite 2), Jayme-Lee Zanoncelli (Dynamite 3), Eva Phillips (Little Inez and ensemble), Catherine Morris (female authority figure) and Daniel Page (male authority figure).

In the ensemble will be Emma Hunter (Lou-Ann and dance captain), Ann-Marie Craine (Brenda), Madeleine Hargrave (Tammy), Toby Shellard (Brad), Isaac J Lewis (Sketch), George Lyons (Fender) and Luke Buck (Duane).

Director and choreographer will be Lee Proud. The rest of the creative team comprises producer Celia Mackay, associate choreographer and dance captain Emma Hunter, Michael Bradley who looks after musical supervision and direction, set and costume designer Paul Farnsworth, lighting designer Jason Taylor, sound designer Chris Whybrow and casting director Anne Vosser.

Proud said, “Hairspray is without doubt one of the most uplifting and joyous musicals ever written and its messages of inclusion and equality resonate more today than ever before. We’ve gathered an incredible cast and we can’t wait to see you all for an unforgettable night of entertainment.”

Hairspray will run for 52 performances at Kilworth House Theatre, North Kilworth from Tuesday 27 June until Sunday 6 August.

Are you sure?