Ticketmaster Summer in Stages

GrimeBoy for West Midlands community tour

Published: 30 April 2022
Reporter: Steve Orme

The cast of GrimeBoy outside Birmingham University’s Curzon Building, one of the stops on the tour Credit: Graeme Braidwood

Birmingham Rep’s production of GrimeBoy, written by the city’s poet laureate Casey Bailey, which follows friends and adversaries through Birmingham’s grime music scene, is to tour to 12 community venues around the West Midlands.

Madeleine Kludje who directs said, “it’s been fantastic to see our run of GrimeBoy at the Rep received so enthusiastically by audiences, with standing ovations at every performance. Now, we get to share this superb show and piece of writing with young audiences across the West Midlands—bringing thrilling, relevant theatre to them in venues and spaces on their doorstep.”

The original cast of GrimeBoy will tour: Keiren Hamilton Amos as GrimeBoy, Corey Weekes as Jay, Alexander Lobo Moreno as Blue and Auden Allen as DJ.

The play will tour to Dorothy Parkes Centre, Smethwick on Tuesday 3 May, Birmingham City University Curzon Building on Wednesday 4 May, Cadbury College on Thursday 5 May, Rugeley Rose Theatre on Friday 6 May, Legacy Centre of Excellence on Saturday 7 May, The Hive for Worcester University on Sunday 8 May, SENSE Touchbase Pears on Tuesday 10 May, West Bromwich Library on Wednesday 11 May, [email protected], Nechells on Thursday 12 May, Newhampton Arts Centre on Friday 13 May, Old Print Works, Balsall Heath on Saturday 14 May and Tipton Muslim Community Centre on Sunday 15 May.

All tickets will be free or low cost with support from theatre charity the Sir Barry Jackson Trust.