QuietManDave honoured in writing

Published: 22 September 2020
Reporter: David Upton

Dave Murray

The QuietManDave Prize 2020 longlist, in honour of Manchester critic Dave Murray who died last year, celebrates new and emerging short-form writers.

It’s run by Manchester Writing School at Manchester Metropolitan University, in conjunction with Manchester School of Theatre.

The award offers a top prize of £1,000, plus runner-up prizes, for Flash Fiction and Flash Non-Fiction, which for this competition are short-form written pieces under 500 words with no restriction on form.

The first year has attracted a significant number of entries, including some international submissions, ranging from realist stories to surreal pieces.

Among the longlist are Kalman Dean-Richard, Naomi Hamill, and Sarah Jasmon, all alumni of Manchester Metropolitan’s MA in Creative Writing, along with local author Rosie Garland and Sean Lusk, who won the 2015 Manchester Fiction Prize, from Manchester Writing School.

The prize has been initiated and funded by Murray’s family, including his wife Vanda, a senior non-executive director with several organisations and former chair of Manchester Metropolitan’s governors.

Winners will be announced on October 8.