Two scoop new writing awards

Published: 14 October 2020
Reporter: David Upton

Elizabeth Ingram Wallace
David Calder

Elisabeth Ingram Wallace and David Calder have won the first QuietManDave short-form writing awards that honour Manchester theatre critic Dave Murray.

Ingram Wallace took top prize in the Flash Fiction category with her story Granny Smith, Queene. Meanwhile, Calder picked up first place in the Flash Non-Fiction category with These Insane Animals, or, A Strange Interlude, his first piece of flash non-fiction. Both have been awarded £1,000 prize money.

The QuietManDave Prize is run by the Manchester Writing School at Manchester Metropolitan University, in conjunction with the Manchester School of Theatre.