2019 Rural Touring Awards

Published: 7 July 2019
Reporter: Sandra Giorgetti

A panel of judges made up of Jude Henderson, director, Federation of Scottish Theatres, Ian McMillan, poet, journalist, playwright, and broadcaster, and Kate Green, deputy editor, Country Life Magazine have selected the winners of this year's Rural Touring Awards.

Nominees came from across England, Scotland and Wales, the work of each of them contributing to the health and cohesion of their local community.

This year's winners are:

Special Award – Theatr Bara Caws, the oldest professional community theatre working through the medium of Welsh.

Other nominees in this category were Karen Jeremiah and Sian Kerry, Arts Alive.

Break Through Performance of the YearCommon Lore from Sophia Hatfield, Stute Theatre.

Other nominees in this category were Theatre company Dante or Die and Haunted Man by Kindred Theatre.

Favourite Performance of the Year – I Ain't Afraid of No Ghost from Little Earthquake.

Other nominees in this category were Excalibow by Bowjangles and Brilliance by Farnham Maltings.

Touring Scheme Collaboration of the year – The Inn Crowd, a partnership project from Applause Rural Touring, Creative Arts East and National Centre for Writing.

Other nominees in this category were The Northern Consortium, Carn to Cove and Villages in Action.

Voluntary Promoter or Voluntary Promoting Group of the Year – Gaynor Morgan Rees and Gwyneth Kensler for their support of Theatr Twm o’r Nant over 20 years .

Other nominees in this category were David Lane and Yvonne Brown and the committee at The Dog Inn, Belthorn.

Young Person of the Year – Jasmin Lowrie, 20, from Chirnside in Berwickshire.