Foster's So You Think You're Funny winners announced

Published: 25 August 2013
Reporter: Sandra Giorgetti

Joint winner Demi Lardner
Joint winner Edd Hedges
Laura Mclenahan

For the first time in the 26–year history of the So You Think You’re Funny Awards, two comedians have tied in first place.

The joint winners are Demi Lardner from Adelaide, Australia and the UK's Edd Hedges. Runner-up Laura Mclenaghan is also from the UK.

Lardner and Hedges have each won a cash prize and a trip to perform at Montreal’s Just For Laughs Festival. The prizes were presented by comedian and celebrity judge Sarah Millican.

A panel of judges heard eight minute sets from nine finalist comedy newcomers; the other participants were Alasdair Beckett King, Jenny Collier, Andrew McBurney, Russ Peers, Nicky Wilkinson and Tom Taylor.