Here are the writers of the future

Published: 19 December 2012
Reporter: Sandra Giorgetti

Winners: Jack McEwan, Darcey Fleming, Catherine Solway, Scott Wilson, Sophie Max and judges: Jonathan Douglas (Director of the National Literacy Trust), Michael Morpurgo and Michael McCabe (UK Executive Producer of Wicked) Credit: Dan Wooller

In 2010, long-running musical Wicked launched the Wicked Young Writers’ Award to encourage and recognise young writing talent.

This year nearly five thousand entries were received from all over the UK, submitted by schools or individuals across five age categories ranging from 5 to 17, with an individual Gregory Maguire Award for 18-25 year-olds.

War Horse author Michael Morpurgo was Chair Judge of the panel which included Michael McCabe, executive producer of Wicked, and Jonathan Douglas, director of the National Literacy Trust.

Wicked's Elphaba, Louise Dearman, hosted a ceremony where Michael Morpurgo presented the awards saying "These young people have written extraordinary pieces… Here are the writers of the future.”

As part of the ceremony, performance poet Dean Atta led an interactive literacy workshop, Wicked cast members performed songs from the show and readings of the winning entries.

Individual winners receive family tickets to see the show and a place on a writing masterclass, and two participating schools receive books for their libraries. The shortlisted entries are published in hard copy for the younger categories and as a downloadable e-anthology for the 18-25 category.

For further information about the Award or to download the e-anthology visit