Janie Dee joins Buxton cast of A Little Night Music

Published: 2 June 2021
Reporter: Steve Orme

Janie Dee in Blithe Spirit in 2014 Credit: Johan Persson

Janie Dee will play Desiree Armfeldt in the Buxton Opera House and Buxton International Festival co-production of Stephen Sondheim’s A Little Night Music.

Dee won the Olivier Award for best actress, the Critics’ Circle Award and Evening Standard Award for her role in Alan Ayckbourn's play Comic Potential in 1998.

Her portrayal of Phyllis Rogers Stone in Sondheim's Follies at the National Theatre in 2017 earned nominations for both Olivier and Evening Standard awards. Dee also took the role of Ruth Condomine in Noël Coward’s Blithe Spirit at the Gielgud Theatre in 2014.

David Leonard will play lawyer Fredrik Egerman, while Daniella Sicari will appear as Frederik’s trophy wife Anne. Gabrielle Drake plays Madame Armfeldt, Sarah Ingram is Countess Charlotte Malcolm and Tim Walton is Count Carl-Magnus Malcolm.

Matthew McKinney will play Henrik Egerman, Molly Lynch takes the role of Petra and Julia Mariko Smith is Fredrika Armfeldt.

Paul Kerryson, director and chief executive of Buxton Opera House, directs. Conductor is Wyn Davies, Phil Daniels and Charles Cusick Smith are the designers and lighting designer is Ben Pickersgill.

Kerryson said, "I’m thrilled that Buxton International Festival and Buxton Opera House are joining their considerable forces to create a new production of Stephen Sondheim's and Hugh Wheeler’s fabulous A Little Night Music with such a prestigious and talented cast.

The musical will mark both the start of this year’s Buxton International Festival and the re-opening of Buxton Opera House. A Little Night Music will be performed on Thursday 8 July, Saturday 10 July, Thursday 15 July and Saturday 24 July.