Nominations for One Dance UK Awards 2020

Published: 11 September 2020
Reporter: Vera Liber

UK Dance

The One Dance UK Awards are back for their third year, shining a spotlight on those who have positively impacted the dance sector over the past twelve months.

The three shortlisted nominees in each category have been selected by an expert panel of judges from over a thousand public nominations and feature dance artists, teachers, practitioners, educators, schools, choreographers, companies, venues, scientists, marketers and producers.

One Dance UK CEO Andrew Hurst said, “now, more than ever, it is important to empower and celebrate our sector. The sheer volume of nominations we received this year and their outstanding quality proves that there is no shortage of exceptional talent working in dance. The One Dance UK awards will be a way to highlight the remarkable contribution and commitment of these incredible people. Whilst we may not be able to come together in person this year, we hope that people will join us online to give much-deserved recognition to the shortlisted nominees, who have done so much to enrich the sector through their work.”

There is a public vote for the People’s Choice Award. Voting closes on Sunday 27 September.

The full list of nominations and categories is:

Dance in Wales Award

  • Emma Mallam, Motion Control Dance
  • Groundwork Pro
  • Pauline Crossley

Primary Dance Education Award

  • Charlotte Penn
  • Janet Sandikli
  • Tina Vallance

Secondary Dance Education Award

  • Hilary Roche
  • James Golds
  • Laura Arnold

Inspirational Lecturer at College, University or Conservatoire Award

  • Carla Trim-Vamben
  • Claire Nicholson
  • Shantel Ehrenberg

Inspirational Community Dance Practitioner Award

  • Charlotte Armitage
  • Gemma Conelle
  • Kamara Gray

Inspirational Work in Education & Outreach Award

  • Impact Dance
  • MovementWorks
  • Shaper/Caper

Dance for Wellbeing Award

  • Jamie Berry (BBoy Flexton)
  • Lauren Proto
  • Sandra Golding

Research in Dance Award

  • Charles Linehan
  • Mickael Marso Riviere
  • Nigel Charnock Archive

Dance Healthcare Practitioner Award

  • Katy Chambers
  • Nicoletta Lekka
  • Sofia Ornellas Pinto

Dance Healthcare Team Award

  • English National Ballet School Healthcare Team
  • London Studio Centre
  • Royal Ballet School

Applied Dance Science Award

  • Dr Lucie Clements
  • Dr Manuela Angioi
  • Sonia Rafferty

Innovation in Dance Award

  • Far From The Norm, Botis Seva
  • Towards Vivencia
  • Wilkie Branson

Dance Campaign Award

  • Dance Consortia North West Dance Connects Campaign
  • M&S “Go Jumpers” Campaign
  • University of East Anglia Tap Dance Society #TapOut Campaign

Dance Programming Award

  • Phil Hargreaves
  • Rubicon Dance
  • Serendipity

Dance on Film Award

  • Corey Baker – Swan Lake Bath Ballet
  • National Dance Company Wales - Reflections
  • Wilkie Branson – TOM

Dance Advocacy Award

  • Hot House Dance
  • Pavilion Dance South West – Surf the Wave
  • Yorkshire Dance

Rising Star Award

  • Alexandra Henwood
  • Ellie Bishop-Williams
  • Vickie Louise Simmonds

The Jane Attenborough Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients of Dance Education, Dance of the African Diaspora and Contemporary Dance will be announced at a later date.