Denzel Westley-Sanderson wins RTST director award

Published: 21 November 2021
Reporter: Sandra Giorgetti

Denzel Westley-Sanderson

Denzel Westley-Sanderson has taken home the 2021 RTST Sir Peter Hall Director Award.

The award is presented to an establishing director demonstrating exceptional skill by The Royal Theatrical Support Trust and English Touring Theatre, and is now in its fifth year.

Westley-Sanderson will now have the opportunity to direct a full-scale, funded, mid-scale regional touring production. The classic or modern play will be a co-production between Leeds Playhouse and ETT and open at Leeds Playhouse prior to a tour.

The 2021 runner-up is Nathan Crossan-Smith, who will receive mentoring and professional support from ETT.

The selection panel was made up of Richard Twyman artistic director of ETT, James Brining artistic director of Leeds Playhouse, Dominic Cooke director, Paapa Essiedu actor, Haydn Gwynne actor, Shelley Maxwell movement director, Nickie Miles-Wildin co-artistic director and CEO of DaDaFest and Sirine Saaba actor.