Ticketmaster Summer in Stages

Seabright top of the league

Published: 8 May 2022
Reporter: Sandra Giorgetti

League of Independent Producers

James Seabright is to take of the chair of the League of Independent Producers as Edward Snape steps down after six years in post.

Olivier Award winning Seabright is a successful commercial theatrical producer and general manager behind such shows as Adam Kay’s This Is Going To Hurt, the immersive Trainspotting Live, Showstopper! The Improvised Musical, Loot by Joe Orton, The Boys In The Band by Mart Crowley and Our Boys by Jonathan Lewis.

He chairs the board of the King’s Head Theatre, and is an associate artist of Wilton’s Music Hall and has written So You Want to Be a Theatre Producer? published by Nick Hern.

Seabright said, “it is a great honour to be elected to the chair of the League of Independent Producers by my fellow board members, who I have enjoyed serving alongside for the last six years.

"The outgoing chair Edward Snape has led the League through the huge challenges of the COVID pandemic, during which time the organisation’s membership grew hugely as producers looked to work together more closely to help solve the many challenges of reopening shows safely and successfully.

"I look forward to building on this strong foundation in the years ahead, and to working collaboratively with industry colleagues to ensure that we can better serve audiences as well as the incredible onstage and offstage talent of UK theatre.”

The League is a UK industry body representing more than one hundred leading independent theatre producers. It exists to represent the interests of producers where they diverge from those of theatre managers and owners and this is reflected in its membership. It also provides a forum to share knowledge and best practice.

James Seabright will chair the board made up of Tristan Baker, Patrick Gracey, Ameena Hamid, Glynis Henderson, Colin Ingram, Neil Laidlaw, Eleanor Lloyd, Jeremy Meadow, Francesca Moody, Mark Rubinstein, Edward Snape and Kenny Wax.