Stiles + Drewe Best New Song winner

Published: 20 November 2023
Reporter: Sandra Giorgetti

Stiles + Drewe Best New Song Prize
Anthony Drewe, Eloise Hodder, Rachel Walker Mason, Nina Sundstrom, Renee Lamb, George Stiles

Stiles + Drewe and Mercury Musical Developments have given the of the Stiles + Drewe Best New Song Prize 2023 to Rachel Walker Mason and Nina Sundstrom for their song “Drown Without Water” from the musical The Circle.

A judging panel made up of George Stiles, Anthony Drewe, Derek Bond, Candida Caldicot and Deborah Tracey chose the song from twelve finalists whittled down by a large panel of industry judges from 175 submissions.

Walker Mason and Sundstrom will now receive £1,000 to develop their work and a year-long Dorico Pro licence. Walker Mason and Sundstrom are lyricists and composers of The Circle, the book of which is written by Eloise Hodder.

Geraint Owen took home the £250 prize for Voice, Vision & Potential for his song “BIO” from Queerway.

*Some links, including Amazon,,, ATG Tickets, LOVEtheatre, BTG Tickets, Ticketmaster, LW Theatres and QuayTickets, are affiliate links for which BTG may earn a small fee at no extra cost to the purchaser.

Are you sure?