The Stage Awards 2019

Published: 3 February 2019

The winners of The Stage Awards 2019, which seek to recognise achievements of theatre companies and individuals, have been announced.

Natasha Tripney, reviews editor of The Stage and judging panel member, said, "it’s a pleasure to recognise the theatres that are changing the shape of the industry both via the work they programme, the people they work with and the level of support they are able to offer theatre makers, both in London, at the Bush Theatre and the New Diorama, and around the UK. New initiatives like Open Door are making it possible for talented young people to overcome financial barriers into the industry. Hijinx is touring inclusive theatre internationally, changing preconceptions. These are developments worth celebrating."

The Awards saw Sonia Friedman named Producer of the Year for the fourth time for her work including The Jungle, The Inheritance and Summer and Smoke.

The Unsung Hero award went to Pat Nelder from Theatr Clwyd. Nelder has worked at the Mold venue since 1977 joining as a junior member in the LX department and is now the capital development associate.

The Stage Award Winners

  • Regional Theatre of the Year - Nottingham Playhouse for its acclaimed season including Wonderland, Sweet Charity and The Madness of George III
  • London Theatre of the Year - Bush Theatre for its diverse programming including An Adventure and Misty
  • Fringe Theatre of the Year - Barn Theatre Cirencester for its productions of One Minute and The Rise and Fall of Little Voice
  • Theatre Building of the Year - Battersea Arts Centre London which has reopened the Grand Hall after destroyed in 2015
  • Producer of the Year - Sonia Friedman Productions for her London work including The Jungle, The Inheritance and Summer and Smoke and international transfers
  • School of the Year - Open Door London and the East Midlands for providing training and financial support for students from low-income households
  • International Award - Hijinx Theatre Cardiff for its international touring work including taking four actors with Down's syndrome to work with local drama students in Lesotho, where disability is perceived as a curse and babies with disabilities are often abandoned.
  • Innovation Award - New Diorama Theatre London for its programming model
  • Sustainability Award - Lyric Hammersmith London
  • Unsung Hero - Pat Nelder of Theatr Clwyd

The winners are selected by The Stage’s senior editorial team after consultation with leading industry figures. There is also a public nomination process.

Sandra Giorgetti