Ticketmaster Summer in Stages

WGGB Olwen Wymark Awards 2022

Published: 6 March 2022
Reporter: Sandra Giorgetti

Liam Evans Ford
Tamara Harvey

The Olwen Wymark Awards, presented by The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain in recognition of those who support new writing, announced the winners in this 17th year of the awards.

A unique opportunity for WGGB members to thank the people who have been in their corner, the Olwen Wymark Awards were set up by Mark Ravenhill and former WGGB chair David James and named after fellow playwright Olwen Wymark who died in 2013.

James said, “writing thrives when it is encouraged and, as theatres continue to face down the pandemic, encouraging writers has never been more important. In the 17th year of the awards, we are pleased to celebrate five nominees who have all provided steadfast support through challenging times.”

The winners are:

  • Bill Cronshaw – artistic director, Dreamshed Theatre, nominated by Caroline Summerfield
  • Graeme Thompson – interim executive producer, Live Theatre, nominated by Olu Alakija
  • Liam Shea – director, CampFire Theatre, nominated by Nicholas McInerny
  • Tamara Harvey and Liam Evans-Ford – artistic director and executive director, Theatr Clwyd, Nominated by WGGB member Alun Saunders