ENB Emerging Dancer celebrates ten years

Published: 2 May 2019
Reporter: Vera Liber

Celebrating 10 years, English National Ballet’s Emerging Dancer competition, hosted by former Principal of The Royal Ballet Adam Cooper, will return to Sadler’s Wells on 7 May 2019 and will be live-streamed worldwide, when recipients of the People's Choice Award and the Corps de Ballet Award will also be announced.

Six of the company's most promising dancers will perform in front of a panel of expert judges: Tamara Rojo CBE, Artistic Director of English National Ballet; Guest Character Artist at English National Ballet and former Principal of The Royal Ballet Michael Coleman; dance writer Gerald Dowler; performer, choreographer and director Carrie-Anne Ingrouille; founder of mavinkhooDance and rehearsal director to Akram Khan Company Mavin Khoo; and former Principal of The Royal Ballet Sarah Wildor.

Each finalist will first perform a classical pas de deux, followed by a contemporary solo. This year will see Rhys Antoni Yeomans and Emilia Cadorin dance a pas de deux from Coppelia, Shale Wagman and Alice Bellini will perform the Grand Pas Classique and Rentaro Nakaaki and Julia Conway present Flames of Paris.

Rhys Antoni Yeomans will then dance a solo from William Forsythe‘s In The Middle, Somewhat Elevated, Rentaro Nakaaki will dance Own created by choreographer Nuno Campos and Shale Wagman will perform Peculiar Mind choreographed by Nürnberg Ballet dancer Sofie Vervaecke.

Alice Bellini performs Danish choreographer Sebastian Kloborg’s CLAN B, Julia Conway has worked with Rambert dancer Miguel Altunaga who has created a piece for her solo, Untitled Code, and Emilia Cadorin will dance BAM! choreographed by English National Ballet First Soloist Fabian Reimair, who has also composed the music to accompany the piece.

Last year’s Emerging Dancer Award winner Daniel McCormick will perform a pas de deux from Don Quixote with First Artist Francesca Velicu.

As always, the finalists have been mentored by their peers in the company. Pedro Lapetra has worked with Julia Conway and Rentaro Nakaaki; Conway has also worked with Shiori Kase. Alice Bellini has been supported by Junor Souza and Fernanda Oliveira, as well as Jeffrey Cirio for her solo; Erina Takahashi and Adela Ramírez have coached Emilia Cadorin; Shale Wagman has been mentored by Fernando Bufalá and Rhys Antonio Yeomans has been working with James Forbat and Barry Drummond.

The evening will be live streamed via Facebook, YouTube and Twitter. Last year’s livestream received more than 100,000 views worldwide.