News about new theatre writing events and opportunities.




Abigail Hood (Southwark Playhouse).
Reviewer: John Johnson

Jessica Baglow,

First Words

Charlotte Joseph, Shauna Mackay and Ian Townsend (Octagon Theatre Bolton at Octagon Theatre).
Reviewer: David Chadderton

Lotte Rice in Exactly Like You, Matt Whayman

Exactly Like You

Lotte Rice (VAULT Festival produced by Joe Brown and Matt Whayman at Vault Theatre).
Reviewer: Sandra Giorgetti

Writing news

Staffordshire writers win Lichfield play contest

Lichfield Garrick has announced the winners of its Garrick300 playwriting competition: Rory Payne and Ellie Galvin for Paradise and Kiersten Leslie for Moving Pictures.

Steve Orme, 08 July 2017

Bruntwood Prize entries close

The 2017 Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting has inspired 1,898 writers to submit their plays to Europe's largest prize for playwriting.

David Upton, 16 June 2017

Emerging writers prize the WiT Award names inaugural winner

The Writers in Theatre Award has named its first winner, D A Nixon, whose winning play looks at the development of a friendship which comes to represent the clash between rave culture and urban regeneration.

Sandra Giorgetti, 28 May 2017

Taking Flight: New Writing Festival 2018

Writers with British East Asian, South Asian and South East Asian ethnicity are invited to submit their work for Red Dragonfly’s new writing competition.

Sandra Giorgetti, 14 May 2017

Coliseum's First Break for new writing returns

Oldham Coliseum's First Break Festival of new writing will return in June with a programme of performances, rehearsed readings, showcases and discussions.

David Chadderton, 12 May 2017

Where there's Hope, there's Love!

Winner of the Liverpool Hope Playwriting Prize 2017, and £10,000, is actor Simon Bradbury for his play The Last Act of Love of J B Moliere.

David Upton, 06 April 2017

Live seeks 10-minute plays

Newcastle’s Live Theatre is inviting playwrights to submit 10-minute plays for performance in May.

Peter Lathan, 04 April 2017

Petition to save Creative Writing A level

A petition has been launched to prevent the Creative Writing A level being lost following a Department for Education decision.

Sandra Giorgetti, 05 March 2017

Elevating new writing at Live

Live Theatre’s Live Lab Elevator festival of new writing returns to the Newcastle venue for a second year.

Peter Lathan, 01 February 2017

Octagon will REVEAL all

The Octagon's second annual REVEAL Festival in Bolton (February 28 to March 18) will be showcasing work from theatre makers from across the country.

David Upton, 29 January 2017

Writer’s Guild Awards 2017

Sir Tom Stoppard receives the Outstanding Contribution to Writing Award from The Writers' Guild.

Sandra Giorgetti, 29 January 2017

Bruntwood 6 is launched

The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting has launched its sixth search for original plays.

David Upton, 29 January 2017

Death of a Salesman: stories wanted in Northampton

People in Northamptonshire are being invited to submit a short story, poem or sketch inspired by the themes of Northampton Royal and Derngate’s forthcoming production of Arthur Miller’s Death of a Salesman.

Steve Orme, 15 January 2017

Take Flight at New Diorama Theatre

London's New Diorama Theatre host a one-night festival of new writing by emerging British East Asian, South Asian and South East Asian writers.

Sandra Giorgetti, 01 January 2017

Octagon invite for new writing

The Octagon in Bolton has launched the second year of its National Prize, encouraging new and original writing for the stage.

David Upton, 30 December 2016

Race and racism in the countryside—six audio dramas

Ten years on from the stated ‘cultural apartheid’ in the countryside, touring companies Pentabus and Eclipse Theatre have produced six audio dramas to look at Britain today.

Sandra Giorgetti, 24 December 2016