Royal Opera and Ballet at the movies

Published: 12 September 2021
Reporter: Vera Liber

Anna Rose O'Sullivan as Juliet and Marcelino Sambe as Romeo Credit: Helen Maybanks

The Royal Opera House has launches its 2021/22 international Cinema Season after sixteen months of closure, broadcasting to more than 2,000 screens across the globe. The season, premièring in December, includes six major works from the 2021/22 season, accompanied by behind-the-scenes footage, interviews and rehearsal insights.

The Royal Ballet’s Cinema Season opens with Peter Wright’s production of The Nutcracker on Thursday 9 December 2021, created for The Royal Ballet in 1984. Encore screenings will follow from Sunday 12 December. The ballet season also includes Kenneth MacMillan’s Romeo and Juliet, featuring designs by Nicholas Georgiadis, set to Prokofiev’s iconic score, in a Valentine’s Day screening on Monday 14 February 2022, with encore screenings from Sunday 20 February. Swan Lake, featuring designs by John Macfarlane, will be screened on Thursday 19 May 2022, with encore screenings from Sunday 22 May 2022.

The Royal Opera’s Cinema Season will open with Puccini’s Tosca, featuring Paul Brown’s designs, on Wednesday 15 December 2021, with encore screenings from Wednesday 19 January 2022. An anniversary screening of Verdi’s Rigoletto on Thursday 10 March 2022, celebrating 171 years since its première in 1851, will receive encore screenings from Sunday 13 March. Richard Eyre’s La traviata will be screened live on Wednesday 13 April 2022, with encores from Sunday 17 April.